Top News Stories

Recent Videos

USA’s Frankowski and Hegman Win 10/15km FR at Haywood Eastern Canadian Championships

release by CCC

February 03, 2018 (Cantley, Que.) – It was another cool, sunny day at the Nakkertok Ski Centre in Cantley, as the “The Cyclery” Race Day began with the men’s 15k skate races. The American racers have come out in force at the competitions, which double as part of the “SuperTour”, the U.S. National Race Series.

John Hegman leading Jack Carlysle [P] Rob Smith
John Hegman of Sun Valley, Idaho had a 10-second victory over Anchorage, Alaska’s David Norris in the Open Men’s competition. Vail, Colorado’s Tad Elliot was 3rd, and Jack Carlyle of Sault Ste Marie, was the top Canadian in 4th, just 3 seconds from the podium.

mens podium 4.2
The top local skier was Dominique Moncion-Groulx of Gatineau, who skied to a 17th place finish on his home trails at Nakkertok.

Olivia Bouffard Nesbitt [P] Rob Smith
For the women there was a 10k skate race. Olympian Rosie Frankowski of Anchorage dominated the event with a 37 second margin of victory over Becca Rorabaugh of Vermont, yesterday’s sprint race winner. Another Vermonter, Erika Flowers finished 3rd and the top Canadian was again 4th, Frédérique Vézina of Mont Ste. Anne.

Sr Womens podium [P] Rob Smith
Again it was a Nakkertok athlete, Zoë Williams, who was the top local skier finishing 1 place higher than yesterday, in 9th place. Zoë repeated as 3rd Canadian racer, an excellent result for a first year senior.

The junior women’s race saw a repeat victory for Thunder Bay’s Hannah Shields, with Chelsea’s Tove Halvorsen in 3rd. The junior men’s winner was Francis Izquierdo-Bernier from Fondeur Laurentides, with Aidan Kirkham of Kanata in 5th. Both local skiers race for the host club.

Para Nordic mens sitski podium [P] Rob Smith
The Para-Nordic Nationals are also part of the event and National Team member Sebastien Fortier of Quebec City won the men’s sitski competition with Cindy Ouellet of Mont Ste. Anne the women’s champ. The standing class races were won by Andy Lin of Vancouver and Julie Mayer of Sudbury.

Sunday features pursuit start, classic races, beginning at 09:00. In the pursuit the skiers start based on their times from today’s race, so the first skier across the finish line is the winner.

Results here.

Leave a Reply

You must be logged in to post a comment.